I Have ME (Myalgic Encephalomyelitis)


I have ME (myalgic encephalomyelitis)

Anyone can get ME, although it’s most common in women. It’s a complex and long-term illness that has no known cause and is thought to be triggered by a variety of factors. Some people experience an onset of symptoms suddenly and others develop the illness gradually over time. In some cases, the condition may be triggered by an infection, usually, but not always, a viral one such as herpesviruses or enteroviruses.

ME is a progressive, debilitating disease that affects the central nervous system. It can be difficult to diagnose and requires a careful evaluation by a medical specialist. A diagnosis is made after other possible causes of the symptoms are excluded.

The name ME is one of several alternate names that are used to describe the condition that’s often known as chronic fatigue syndrome, or CFS. It’s becoming increasingly popular in the United States to drop the “CFS” from the disease and use the term myalgic encephalomyelitis (ME) instead.

It is a neurological illness that affects the brain and spinal cord, as well as the immune system. It causes severe, persistent fatigue and other symptoms that interfere with everyday life. It can also cause a range of other physical and cognitive problems, including pain, sleep disturbances, depression, irritability, memory loss, anxiety, difficulty with concentration, and poor performance in academic or professional settings.

I have ME and CFS

Many people with ME receive a CFS or ME diagnosis when they don’t recover from a virus such as herpesviruses or cytomegalovirus (CMV), which are the most common triggers for ME. However, ME/CFS is a distinct illness from CFS and PVFS, and further research needs to be done to understand the differences.

I have ME and CFS

If you’ve been given a ME or CFS diagnosis, the first step is to see a specialist. They will take a thorough history, physical exam and other tests to confirm the diagnosis. The specialist will then work with you and your healthcare team to create a personalised care and support plan that best meets your needs.

You should then be referred to an ME/CFS specialist team in your area, which should consist of medically trained clinicians from different specialisms such as rheumatology, endocrinology, rehabilitation medicine, infectious diseases, neurology and general practice. They should be able to provide a comprehensive assessment, and have access to other healthcare professionals that specialize in ME/CFS such as physiotherapists, exercise physiologists, occupational therapists, and dietitians.

I have ME and CFS

ME/CFS is a complex, progressive, debilitating, and chronic condition that impacts the function of all parts of the body. It affects the central nervous system, causing fatigue and other symptoms that make it difficult to carry out daily tasks. It’s a long-term illness that doesn’t have a cure but can be improved by symptom-relief treatments. It’s estimated that about 250,000 people in the UK and over 1 million people in the USA have ME/CFS. The number of people living with ME is growing, and it’s a serious public health issue that should not be underestimated.

Different Kinds of Love


Love is one of the most intense emotions that humans can feel. It’s what makes people do all those early morning doctor’s visits for one specific person, it’s what drives them to go the extra mile for that person.

There are several different kinds of love: friendship, storge, infatuation, commitment, and unrequited love. All of them share the same characteristics: a deep emotional connection, trust and affection.

Friendships, which can last for years or even decades, often start as a form of love and may grow into something more romantic over time. However, some of these friendships can become toxic over time and turn into romantic relationships that are more destructive than healthy.

Storge, which can last for a lifetime or even more, also develops over time and may be based on shared interests, trust and affection. This type of love usually involves a strong commitment and requires both partners to make the relationship work.

Infatuation, which can last for a few weeks or months, usually begins with physical attraction and may progress to a more intimate level. This type of love typically involves sex and intense feelings of longing. It can occur in early relationships and may continue to grow and develop over time, but often ends in breakups or separation.

Commitment, which is a more long-term and stable type of love, can include sharing the same goals, dreams and priorities. It can involve moving in together, starting a family or lifting each other up as they build careers and lives.

This type of love is more enduring and can be achieved through communication and openness. It also often requires a great deal of patience and understanding.

Emotionally, falling in love can be a roller coaster ride with a series of highs and lows, with feelings like exhilaration, euphoria, increased energy, sleeplessness, decreased appetite, trembling, accelerated breathing, and anxiety. These feelings can be a source of joy and satisfaction, or they can lead to desperation and despair.

Despite this, most of us would say that falling in love is the best thing that can happen to us. It’s a rush of positive emotions that feels as real as the love we feel for our pets and children.

Falling in love can make us more confident, able to face challenges and overcome difficult situations, says therapist Mark Schwartz. It can also make us less afraid of the future, which can be a good thing.

There’s a growing body of scientific evidence that suggests that our primitive, survival-related brain systems are active when we are in love. That means that the euphoria and reward recognition associated with romantic love are triggered by parts of our brain that are used for self-preservation, Sullivan says.

In fact, it’s possible that our ancestors used to fall in love with their beloved as an essential part of their daily lives. That’s because love is the most common human emotion, and it can be experienced by people of all races, genders, religions and sexual orientations. It is an essential part of a healthy and happy lifestyle.